Skip to main content

Our history

The family venture starts in 2009 under the name REGINA SOAP. It was during her holidays in France and after visiting a soap factory in l'Ile de Ré that the idea came to Regine Poaty.

Back to Congo, she conducts a market study and realises that there is a significant lack of natural and organic products in the country. Director of the association Justice and Peace, Regine has always placed herself in the service of others and decides then to produce quality natural soaps for the Congolese people.

The dynamic fifties contacts a professor from Marien Ngouabi University in Brazzaville in order to organise a training on soap making for a group of women.

Thereafter, she formulates her own recipe and starts making Aloe Vera and Moringa soaps, which she first offers to her relatives. Word-of-mouth spreads very quickly, obligating her to increase her production in order to supply the growing demand from her acquaintances, who become her first customers.

However, in 2015, Regine moves to the United States and unfortunately has to put her project on hold.

It is in March of 2017, that Fred Degy and his partner Maria Gomes decide to take over the project in order to continue the development of the family business. The couple take over the plantation and production of aloe vera soap initially, later developing the moringa version.
The brand SABONI was born!

en_US

Notre Histoire

L’aventure familiale a débute en 2009 sous le nom REGINA SOAP. C'est lors d'un séjour en France et de la visite d'une fabrique de savons sur l'île de Ré que l’idée vient à Regine Poaty.

De retour au Congo, elle mène une étude de marché et réalise qu'il y a un manque important de produits naturels et biologiques sur le territoire. Directrice de l'association Justice et Paix, Regine consacre sa vie aux autres depuis toujours et elle décide de produire des savons naturels de qualité pour les Congolais.

La dynamique quinquagénaire contacte alors un professeur de l'université Marien Ngouabi à Brazzaville afin d'organiser une formation sur la fabrication du savon auprès d'un groupe de femmes.

Par la suite Regine élabore sa propre recette et entreprend la fabrication de savon à l'aloe vera et au moringa qu'elle offre à ses proches. Très vite le bouche-à-oreille prend de l'ampleur et l'oblige à augmenter sa production pour pouvoir approvisionner ses amis et connaissances - ses premiers clients.

Mais en 2015, Regine s’installe aux États-Unis et doit à regret, mettre ce projet entre parenthèse.

En mars 2017, Fred et Maria sa compagne, décident de relancer ce projet et de développer l'entreprise familiale. Le couple reprend la plantation, la production de savons à l'aloe vera tout d'abord puis développe ceux au Moringa.
La marque Saboni était née !